Night-time in our house

I am frustrated to say the least. “J” has decided in the past month or so that night-time does not equal sleeping in his own bed. He can only sleep if he has mommy or daddy around. Yup, he will go to bed after his night-time wind-down routine and sleep contently in his own bed until 1-3AM. “J” will then wake up and will only fall back asleep if he is in my arms rocking him (but wakes back up when I leave his room), or if he is in our bed.

I spent an hour last night trying to get “J” back to sleep after he woke up at 1AM. He would fall asleep with the rocking chair, I would go back and as soon as my head would hit the pillow he was up crying again. After an hour of this, I decided just to let him into our bed cause it meant that I wouldn’t have to deal with a cranky toddler in the morning everyone would get sleep.

I know there is a point that this becomes a habit and we probably have already passed it. I just don’t know how to get “J” back to sleeping contently in his bed again. I am tired of the battle of crying in the middle of the night.

Leave a Reply

