Tornadoes

I am absolutely 100 % scared of tornadoes. I have so much hatred respect for their power and unpredictability.

When we lived our brief bit in Alabama there were a few things that I didn’t know. A) we moved right at the beginning of tornado season. B) Alabama gets a lot of tornadoes each year. Yes- so my deep, deep fear of tornadoes was only multiplied when we lived out there.

Just to give you an idea of how scared I was. When there were strong storms coming, I was glued to the tv watching the warnings go out as the storm came closer to our county. Then when the siren down the hill from us would go off- I wouldn’t be like our neighbors and continuing to party outside on the deck- I would be huddled in the tiny steel framed under-the-stairs closet with my then-4 month old son and our two dogs. Oh- and calling Husband making sure he was ok and telling him how much I wanted to go back to California.  Granted while we were out there, most of the damage was just wind damage. There was one category 2 tornado that ripped the roof of a bank in a town an hour from us. BUT I hated the pit in my stomach as I watched the warnings go out. I hated the feeling that when a siren went off that it meant my someones life could be catastrophically changed forever in one moment of tornadic terror.

So none the less I am so happy to be back in California where there is no tornado season. I am glad that I don’t have to swallow my heart as it tries to leap out as siren sounds. I am glad that my sons will only have to worry about getting wet when it rains, not having to remember where the nearest shelter is.

HOWEVER (Sorry for the all caps but I want to put a huge emphasis), my heart and prayers go out to all of those whose lives have been torn apart by all the recent tornadoes. I pray that loved ones are safe and that God gives you the strength to continue on and rebuild.

Leave a Reply

