Preparing

I really don’t know what I am doing. Am I getting it right or is he totally going to blindsided? I mean I have to actually think about doing it. Before it just didn’t need to be done.

I am talking about preparing J for the new baby. When I was pregnant with E, J was just too young to really do any preparing. E is pretty much at the same place as that- no real preparing can be done. I am sure J knew and E knows something is up. I mean the growing belly doesn’t exactly say “everything is staying the same”.

However J is getting old enough now that I have to think about how to prepare him for the new baby. When he touches my belly I tell him about the baby. I have pulled out both boys’ baby books and showed them to him. I tell him when he jumps at me or tries to playfully push me over that I can’t because he has to be gentle with baby.  This is the only thing I can think of doing. Also as the day gets closer I will find books on new baby in the house/big brother.

I think something is sinking in though. It was so incredibly cute the other day. J got off the potty in the morning and I told him- as our usual routine- to go into his room and pick out underwear and clothes. We went to his room and he got dressed. BUT then out of the blue, J gives me a hug and says “I hug baby”! I laughed and told him that he would have to hug mommy lower if he wanted to hug the baby. So J hugged my belly, smiled, and again said “I hug baby”. I gave him a hug back and said thank you.

It wasn’t just this one time either. J has repeated this “hug baby” many times. And yesterday, J did even more. He came over, sat down on my lap, and rubbed my belly! He then told me he was touching baby. I thanked him for being so nice and gentle with the baby. He smiled and repeated “I touch baby”.

I don’t know what the heck I am doing. I am just really, really hoping that I am preparing J in the best way for him. I am waiting for the moment that J happens to rub or touch my swelling belly that the baby kicks. I hope he and E connect the same way with the baby as they have over the past 16 months.

2 thoughts on “Preparing

  1. I think I remember mom saying all she did was read you lil sister books of some sort. And we got along fine (like I remember being that young;) From what I hear, you can expect J &E to start the swing for you, and topple the little one over when he’s big enough to sit up 😉 Can’t wait to meet the new one!

  2. With just having 2 little ones and having them close together, I never had that joy. J is so sweet. I think it is a great way to get him used to being gentle with the new baby.

Leave a Reply

